This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Email Notification

Mar 27, 2009 at 10:57 AM
i am new to this system. i downloaded source code and i am running from my system. i didn't change any thing application it is working fine. but i am not receiving any email notifications.
can any one explain me email configuration. i already changed what are the emails we have in application but still emails fail.
Coordinator
Mar 28, 2009 at 2:51 AM

In all probability, you are just seeing normal behavior. TicketDesk will never notify you for a change that you yourself performed. TicketDesk assumes that you know what changes you made and so it doesn't spam notifications about your own changes. So when you test, make sure you are testing email notifications make sure you use diffrent users to create the ticket and a differnt user to assign the ticket to. 

The second most likely thing is that you are running the app on Windows Vista and do not have a 3rd party email server installed. TicketDesk does not directly send the emails itself. It routes them through the SMTP server speficied in web.config. Since Vista doesn't have a local email server, it will not send anything. If you are just testing things out, I highly recomment the Antix SMTP serever for developers. It does all that you need, but cannot actually route emails to remote systems. It just drops emails to a folder so you can verify the contents. 

If you are actually having problems with the email notificaitons, the ELMAH error logs in the admin section should contain information about the failures. The email notificaitons are also stored in a table in the DB (even the notifications that aren't sent are stored), which allows you to trace what is going on with notifications. 

As a last resort you can debug through the code of course. 

Mar 30, 2009 at 3:30 AM
hi,