This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

AD Security

Jul 24, 2008 at 6:41 AM
Hello,

This is my first time using AD users. From debugging, it seems like the TicketDesk system is not recognizing the groups a user belongs to. I have created three groups in AD, Submitter, HelpDesk, HelpDeskAdmin and they match with the key values in the web config.

The reason I think it's not recognizing the groups is, when I change authorization in web config to allow all authenticated user it works fine. When I change it back to only allow users in one of these groups I get an error saying access denied.

Where can start looking for the problem?
Coordinator
Jul 24, 2008 at 5:44 PM
I suppose the first thing is to make sure that users are assigned to the AD groups that you have created.  I'd need more details about your error message and configuration to know more. I would try something a little more telling. Does the system work if you set the authorization to allow roles="domain\domain users" ?
Jul 31, 2008 at 2:13 AM
Edited Jul 31, 2008 at 5:24 AM
This is error I get,  I am temporarily using our administrator account to read from AD.

Access is denied.

Description: An error occurred while accessing the resources required to serve this request. The server may not be configured for access to the requested URL.

Error message 401.2.: Unauthorized: Logon failed due to server configuration.  Verify that you have permission to view this directory or page based on the credentials you supplied and the authentication methods enabled on the Web server.  Contact the Web server's administrator for additional assistance.

But if I change this section in web.config

<authorization>

<

allow roles="Submitter"/>

<

allow roles="HelpDesk"/>

<

allow roles="HelpDeskAdmin"/>

<

deny users="*"/>

</

authorization>

to this, it works fine with AD.  But the appropriate group is not recognized

<authorization>

<

allow roles="Submitter"/>

<

allow roles="HelpDesk"/>

<